singer Tony Bennett did not forget his heart, as he showed all heart 

My full Tony Bennett concert review may be in the Excelsior. Waiting for autographs outside the concert I met Noel. We then met on the Staten Island Ferry going back. Many songs memorable lines are not in the title. An example is the Christmas Song which is not as recognizable as the lyric “Chestnuts roasting on an open fire. “  We were trying to figure out the titles to some of the key lines and were singing it. There was a group behind us and one kept guessing the titles.

I asked what the title was for I’m in Heaven and he said “I’m in Heaven.” I replied very good but what is the title for the song and he said “I’m in Heaven” and I said third base. This repeated for several songs. For those that do not know the reference see “The Who’s on First Routine” with Abbott and Costello.

After he got many in a row I said he could be in the band and he said he was and everyone laughed that I thought he was putting me on. I said I was Howard Hughes. He said he really was the conductor and pianist in the band and gave us his card and we checked the camera and he was.

To fans I interviewed I want to know if there was any quote you said I missed and on the play list.  Contact me at RobinQhood@yahoo.com.

One of the youngest fans was 16 year old Rosalia Cioffi said this was the third time she saw him and at Radio City music Hall he was with Lady Gaga.   Her relative with her was Brenda Picone who saw him for the fourth time and memorable at the NJ Performing Arts Center. She thought he was amazing and never gets old and that a family of fans admire him.

Usher Christina Carrara said he is a musical influence for generations. What a voice without using a mike for a song.

There was a group of 11 that came from Bay Ridge. Catherina Terruso said she admired him and the theater had great acoustics.   Peter Mozre said he saw him 5 years ago and he hasn’t slowed down a step.

Catherine M. said he is amazing at 90. He moved us all and it was a nice touch giving him a birthday cake on stage. He was enthusiastic and great to see someone at that age.  She lived in Staten Island and now lives in Manhattan.

To newcomers man of the songs are romantic  and many songs are with the piano tinkling. Play list below , free songs to listen to on http://www.famousfix.com/topic/tony-bennett-the-way-you-look-tonight

His top song was I Left My Heart in San Francisco, Fly Me to the Moon,Rags to Riches, I Wanna Be Around, How Do You Keep The Music Playing?,  Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me),  They All Laughed, Steppin’ Out With My Baby, Our Love Is Here to Stay, The Way You Look Tonight, Boulevard of Broken Dreams, The Shadow of Your Smile, For Once in My Life, Someone who needs me, Because of you, I’m in Heaven.

Some of the slow songs: One For My Baby (And One More For The Road), Just in Time, Who Can I Turn To (When Nobody Needs Me), Stranger in Paradise, The Way You Look Tonight, The Best is Yet to Come, The Good Life.

 

Leave a Reply

