Mermaid Parade Photos

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
For the Coney Island Mermaid Parade usually I wait at the finish line and can get marching groups to group together for photos and get a closer shot. This parade I started at West 8th near the Aquarium and hung out there so I would see the vintage cars because on the boardwalk you would not see them. I went up to Stillwell and stopped at MacDonald’s on Mermaid Ave. I found $4 sun lotion spray on Mermaid Ave and around 20 St. on the beach side. I went down Surf Ave. This year they moved the viewing grand stand for judges and VIP’s close to the baseball stadium where you could hear them announce each group. The mayor’s children where the King and Queen. Many probably did not know it was moved because it was only 3 deep there. You can only cross Surf Ave at West 8th or at the other end 23 Street which I did and went to the board walk. I see a White Castle opened opposite the the Cyclone roller coaster. I never saw a ceremony in the water as was the custom of starting the summer season. More photos to come in the future.
OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA
The lady in the last 3 photos got asked from the sidelines to ride in the parade.

Leave a Reply

